Scottie Scheffler wins at TPC Sawgrass

For the first time in its 50 years of competition, The Players Championship crowned a repeat champion, and his name is Scottie Scheffler.

Fighting through neck pain and challenging the PGA Tour’s best amid the pitfalls of the Players Stadium Course at TPC Sawgrass, Scheffler triumphed in a gripping four-way battle ahead of Xander Schauffele, Wyndham Clark and Brian Harman in Sunday’s final round.

Clark nearly forced a playoff with his birdie putt on 18, but his putt lipped out.

Scheffler erased a five-stroke deficit with a final-round 64 and topped the field with 20 under for the tournament, the first-ever back-to-back winner of the Gold Man Trophy in the golden anniversary of The Players. Clark, Harman and Schauffele each came in at 19 under.

First appeared on

Leave a Comment